"Remember, remember the 5th of November, gunpowder, treason and plot ....."


The earliest mention of the historic and picturesque village of Dunchurch is contained in the Doomsday book of 1086 AD, where it appears as Donecerce, the property of William of Osbourne, the son of a Norman Noble, who had claimed it during the Norman Conquest. It boasted a population of only 130.

For centuries, Dunchurch has been a popular stop-over point for travellers on the main London to Ireland road. A coaching stop to take on fresh horses during the 18th century, Dunchurch was also the staging post for pupil, parents, masters and visitors travelling to Rugby School.

As a busy coaching village, many famous and important people have stayed in the village hotels over the centuries. Known visitors include Princess Victoria (later to be Queen), the American poet Longfellow, wrote the `Village Blacksmith' poem whilst staying at the Dun Cow, the famous highwayman Dick Turpin, was based in Dunchurch for many years, Winston Churchill, the Duke of Wellington and William Webb Ellis of Rugby Football fame, are all known to have visited the village.

"Under the spreading chestnut tree,
the village smithy stands ....."


The Old Smithy also known as Longfellows Smithy still standing on the Rugby Road is believed to have been the subject of Longfellows' famous poem, now know as The Old Forge this wonderful medieval house is the oldest property in the village.

The village is perhaps most famed for its role in the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, when conspirators awaiting news of Guy Fawkes attempt to destroy Parliament, met at the Red Lion Inn, now known as Guy Fawkes house.

Such was the considerable trade in looking after travellers who stopped over in Dunchurch during the great coaching days (up to 40 coaches a day stopped here), it is said that every property in the centre of the village was at some time an inn or an ale house.

Today, Dunchurch is a quiet "by passed" village and is designated a conservation area with a lovely village green complete with village stocks and maypole, charming 15th, 16th, 17th and 18th Century buildings, many of which retain the traditional Warwickshire thatched roofs. The village regularly wins the prestigious Best Kept Warwickshire Village award.

DEBIT CARDS 
TAKEN
Village Green House
The Green Dunchurch Rugby Warwickshire CV22 6NX
Tel: 07837 182114 Fax: +44 (0)1788 814714
E-mail:
info@vghrugby.co.uk
DEBIT CARDS 
TAKEN